A Studio in Paris

Ever since I knew that I was going to be coming to Paris, I knew I wanted the full experience. That meant finding a place, which anyone knows that in Paris, is near impossible to find a nice, affordable, and central location. Well ladies and gentlemen, I came close.

Actually, my mother was the one who found this apartment in Rue des Saints-Pères, located in between the 6th and 7th arrondissements, a wonderful location on the left bank and heart of Paris.

It is a 26 square meters furnished studio, and the reason that I am able to afford it is that I paid in-state tuition for three years and I have my boyfriend for a roommate. I love living here, I have been the happiest exchange student. A mere couple of blocks from SciencesPo, I have never skipped a class; the great location has helped me stay on top of my studies.

Our bed on the mezzanine

Our bed on the mezzanine

Stairs leading to the book shelves on the mezzanine

Stairs leading to the book shelves on the mezzanine

The bathroom (with a bathtub!)

The bathroom (with a bathtub!)

The kitchen

The kitchen

A view of our studio

A view of our studio

The couch and closet

The couch and closet

Every time I talk to someone and they ask me where I live, they raise their eyebrows and mutter in impressed monosyllables.

When I first arrived, I thought I would be living in the banlieus, taking the metro at 6:30 in the morning to arrive to an 8am class. Either that or I would be living in Nation for an expensive price. Through luck and serendipity, my mother accompanied me in the apartment hunt for a month, and we found this little gem of a place.

While I would be lying if I told you it was cheap, it made me realize that I am only going to be here for a year. If I am going to spend a little less than 12 months in Paris, I would rather live in a central location and save on other things than take the metro for over a half hour each way. I greatly recommend spending a little more on housing in Paris, it will make everything else much easier.

2 thoughts on “A Studio in Paris

Leave a Reply

